A Person Who’s More Than a Person

 

“What a treacherous thing it is to believe that a person is more than a person.”

This is one of my favorite quotations from my favorite writer, John Green who also happens to have written two of my favorite books, Looking for Alaska and The Fault in Our Stars.

The first book that I’ve read by John Green was the Fault in Our Stars and unintentionally, I fell in love with it. I am always the likes of someone who tastes every word when reading. And according to my demanding tastes, that book was perfectly sweet. I truly
believe that Mr. Green didn’t waste any single word in that book, just like Harper Lee did with her genius book, To Kill a Mockingbird.The Fault in Our Stars, although tragic, was stuck in my head for almost 3 weeks. And I still couldn’t get enough with it.The book is going to be adapted into a movie this year.
In the Fault in Our Stars, he stated that he’s one-half of the Vlog Brothers, a quick-followed video blog on Youtube with his brother, Hank Green. They’re not like other people on Youtube who only posts for fun. Vlog Brothers videos were fun and entertaining, but at the same time helpful, for they run several video sessions for a cause, donating proceeds to charities. Thankfully, he’s also active with social media and has Facebook, Twitter, and Tumblr accounts that’s why most fans are updated and questions about his books goes answered.

He attended Indian Springs School, which inspired the setting for Looking For Alaska and graduated from Kenyon College with a double major in English and Religious Studies.I was surprised when I found out that he intended to become a Episcopal Priest. He changed his track after spending five months working as a student chaplain in a children’s hospital. His experiences there inspired him to write the Fault in Our Stars.

Mr.Green lived for several years in Chicago, where he worked for the book review journal “Booklist” as a publishing assistant and production editor while writing Looking for Alaska.While there, he reviewed hundreds of books, particularly literary fiction and books about Islam or conjoined twins. He has also critiqued books for The New York Times Book Review and written for NPR’s All Things Considered and WBEZ, Chicago’s public radio station.Green later lived in New York City for two years while his wife attended graduate school.His wife, Sarah is an artist and worked as a curator of Contemporary Art at Indianapolis Museum of Art.

In a desperate chase for more emotional enticement, I looked for Mr.Green’s earlier works and struggled to find copies. Because he was only 36 of age, I’m not surprised to find a short list of his works which include: Looking for Alaska (2005), An Abundance of Katherines (2006), Let it Snow, with Maureen Johnson and Lauren Myracle (2008), Paper Towns (2008), Will Grayson, Will Grayson, with David Levithan (2010) and The Fault in Our Stars (2012).Although few, almost all of this books were critically acclaimed and already won several awards including Michael L. Printz, Edgar Allan Poe, Indiana Authors and Children’s Choice Books awards. Even though I was obsessed with The Fault in Our Stars, I think Looking For Alaska was the best book he had written so far. Looking For Alaska was banned multiple times for its contents, but I still admire it for its theme, structure and genuity of the characters.I also loved how John Green extracted different emotions from me, that I didn’t know what is appropriate to feel anymore. LFA was equally funny, tragic, mysterious, sincere and witty.It’s overall theme was undeniably praise-worthy.

Often, I tend to compare his works to other books. So far, it’s only Markus Zusak (author of the Book Thief and I am Messenger) who managed to nearly equal him in terms of writing beautiful prose.

I love his genius and the talent he exerts to his works, but most importantly I love his the uniqueness of his personality.I always pictured John Green like his own fictional character Peter Van Houten or maybe someone who love being mysterious and never give answers to questions thrown by desperate people.Peter Van Houten is talented, but a drunkard and loves to yell and break the hearts of his fans.But, after I saw Vlog Brothers on Youtube, it turned out that I was wrong.John Green is a very humorous man and vain(the selfie way). He promotes equality and pays obvious respect to the LGBT community (this is palpable in Will Grayson, Will Grayson). He is also very intellectual and comments carefully and respectfully in religion.He also freely answers questions and criticism in the right way.

I can’t imagine anyone ever surpassing his genius or any other writer who can make me cry the way he did.Is it really treacherous if I say that John Green is a person who’s more than a person?

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

