REAL NEAT BLOG AWARD

Thank you Juansen for the nomination! And I’m so sorry for the late feedback. I had a myriad of academic-related things to do, and I really, really have to prioritize those, as much as I wanted to answer these right away. Anyway, I’m done with all those academic mess, although I do still have an exam to take tomorrow. After that exam though, I will finally be free. AT LAST. I’ll soon be waving hi to all the movies and TV series that are waiting to be binge-watched, and all the books that are dying to be read. And also to my guitar and pencil that are just almost a snap away to be played with.


So, here are Juansen’s 7 questions (Your questions are awesome, Juansen, btw) :

  1. What did you wish to accomplish by starting a blog?
  2. What is the story behind your domain name?
  3. What is your MBTI Personality Test Result? How does it affect you as a person?
  4. What is your meaning of life?
  5. What is your favorite memory?
  6. What is your passion?
  7. If the world suddenly paused just to listen to you—what would be your message to the world?

Here are my answers:

  1. What did you wish to accomplish by starting a blog?

My wish is just similar to what many bloggers who run a personal blog wish to accomplish, eudaimonia (personal happiness/welfare) and catharsis (purgation). To think about it, eudaimonia and catharsis might not be mutually exclusive. I often feel a certain eudaimonia every time I experience catharsis through writing. But, every catharsis for me does not always result to personal happiness. For example, I might be purged of all the worries and doubts inside after posting some entries here, but that does not necessarily make me happy. There is surely satisfaction, but I also often don’t get any pleasure from purging negativities.

What surely give me eudamonia are my interactions here with other bloggers. That might be the top thing in my mind on why I should be starting my own blog. I could always read blogs, without creating my own, but part of me wants validation, and improvement. I can only improve through constructive criticisms, and also, most importantly, experience. “Am I doing OK? Is this OK?” I was thinking then, that maybe blogging should give me answers. Feedback is very important for me, because I believe that destiny (and passion) would always slam me to work places that require public writing, and public writing demands a myriad of variety, ethical precepts, etc. I also wish to give my personal feedbacks to many other aspiring writers here, and so far, I’ve been giving a lot of positive comments to multitude blog posts, and it is because there are so many smart and quirky writers here in WordPress. I also noticed that I get inspired quickly every time I scroll down my WordPress feed. That’s how incredibly awesome people here are.

  1. What is the story behind your domain name?

@ligawnakerubin = Ligaw na kerubin = Lost cupid (Dir. Eng. Trans.)

One of my nicknames is Angel, and I tried to come up with something unique out of it. I decided that ‘Angel’ or some kind of wordplay or modification or whatnots of that name should be included in my domain name. I had numerous futile attempts with ‘Angel’ because all of the wordplays or puns I made are so, NO. They were so corny that I almost opted with just ‘Angel’ but I later figured that that’s just lazy and uncreative. And then I thought of Greek & Roman Gods/Goddesses, because there’s just a 3rd Yr. English book lying there open near me, while I’m in my weird, brainstorm pose. There is a Psyche & Cupid tale there, and I thought, ‘Hey! Why not, right?’ And so I have Cupid, being the Roman god of desire and affection, portrayed as an angel with his iconic bow and arrow. I had second thoughts, because his passionate depiction doesn’t quite ring true to me. I’m not a dreamy, match-maker either. But Cupid/Eros and I are both great believers of love. And I thought, well, maybe love should be enough. Cupid in Filipino translation is Kerubin, and so I have Kerubin. I thought I should add something.

Ligaw is lost in English translation. During the initial design of this blog, I feel like I I’ve lost my sense of direction again. I felt lost multiple times in my life, and Bawat Daan by Ebe Dancel has been my favorite alleviating anthem. I take comfort in the message of the song that I’m not alone. I’m not the only one who’s lost. Placing ligaw in my domain name means that I’m OK with being lost from time to time.

So, long story short, @ligawnakerubin is basically one of the many people who genuinely believe in the power of love (huh, sappy, I know) and she also happens to be one of the many people who are unashamed and OK to admit that they’re occasionally lost.

  1. What is your MBTI Personality Test Result? How does it affect you as a person?

 I’ve taken a lot of the variations of the MBTI test, and almost every time, I test as INFJ. Sometimes I test as INFP/ENFJ, but I circle back always to INFJ. Although I’ve researched that MBTI is quite flimsy because it didn’t have enough foundation to support it, I still acknowledge the fact that MBTI is indeed very helpful in understanding basic behavior patterns and personalities of people.

Here is a brief description of the INFJ personality type:

INFJs indeed share a very unique combination of traits: though soft-spoken, they have very strong opinions and will fight tirelessly for an idea they believe in. They are decisive and strong-willed, but will rarely use that energy for personal gain – INFJs will act with creativity, imagination, conviction and sensitivity not to create advantage, but to create balance. Egalitarianism and karma are very attractive ideas to INFJs, and they tend to believe that nothing would help the world so much as using love and compassion to soften the hearts of tyrants.

Source: https://www.16personalities.com/infj-personality

I was amazed many times by the accuracy of most of the descriptions on INFJ. I was amazed by how true it speaks for me. The descriptions just translated my thoughts about my personality, into words, that I initially found difficult to articulate. For more than a decade of my existence, I’ve always noticed how different and sometimes ‘off’ my personality is compared to other people. Most people just perfectly fit into this particular personality, and I found it difficult to fit myself into anything. Maybe part of it is because I refuse to place myself anywhere. This INFJ Paradox really hits the jackpot:

While the INFJ values sharing deep bonds with people, they often struggle with opening up themselves. So even though they are the person who will coax the truth out of others, they are intensely guarded about their own emotions. The INFJ wants to bond with others but may struggle to truly do so. They hide parts of themselves out of the fear of being judged or misunderstood. They understood others very easily, but struggle with sharing themselves completely with people. The INFJ wants to be understood, but often fears what it will mean if they open up to people.

Source: http://personalitygrowth.com/the-truth-behind-the-infj-paradox-explained/

Discovering my MBTI personality type made me appreciate who I am. I still catch those self-depreciating thoughts every now and then but they come even rarely now, because I’ve learned that I have to love myself, in order to genuinely give the love I wanted to share with others. MBTI helped me, most essentially, to understand and appreciate the people around me. I’ve understood that people are different and their personalities are diverse, but this does not mean that we should create barriers. This may be a hasty generalization, but I love quoting it: Diversity is beautiful. MBTI just gave me a lot of points to support this.

  1. What is your meaning of life?

Life, for me, is loving. It all falls down to this notion that we should really love in order to really live. What makes us wake up? Love. What makes us hold on to living? Love. You really know you’re alive when you love yourself and you love other people, as well.

  1. What is your favorite memory?

Oh, this is too hard to answer. I have a lot of favorites. I can’t really articulate all of those memories that I love all at once now, as much as I want to. Plus, I might be saving those memories for future blog posts. Hehe, sorry buddy.

  1. What is your passion?

I can’t think of only one, because there are lots of things that I genuinely love to do.  But, in general, I think learning is my passion. I’m passionate about learning about other people, the latest news, different viewpoints, musical instruments, art, writing, languages, culture, food, self-expression, etc., etc. I have like, 12 tabs on my screen right now, and each displays distinctive contents that I’m currently interested in. It’s hard for me to center most of my attention on one thing or two, because I get bored too easily. I wish I could hack my brain into a singular thought right now. I can bring myself to focus into one, of course. It’s just very difficult for me to do it, and it requires a myriad of shenanigans and rituals like taking a bath first, listening to a full Regina Spektor or Coldplay or Ebe Dancel album, and then eating powdered cocoa, before doing anything else. So yeah, I love learning. Learning is very easy now, especially if you have a good Internet connection. You can watch a flute tutorial on YouTube in one tab, read an interesting psychology-based article in another, play Duolingo in another, chat with friends on Facebook in the next, scroll WordPress in another, watch a movie in Rainierland, listen to a local indie band, create pictures in Canva, etc., etc.

  1. If the world suddenly paused just to listen to you—what would be your message to the world?

Ehem. Ehem. Friends, family, countrymen, I’m here to deliver you an important message.

Stop being so discriminating and unreasonable. Stop making other people feel less human that they actually are, just because they’re different from what you’re accustomed to. Make some sense out of: “We’re all equal.” And just LOVE. Oh, and also, there are lots of people around you who need at least a 5 second hug. You are required to attend to those people.

I nominate:

Life As A Bipolar Artist

Dear, Jhoanna

Distortedtales

emotionsoflife2016

AnneGandaMo

Seekersportal

shairamaec

And my questions are:

  1. What are your core values? How do you transform those values into action?
  2. What is/are your favorite book/s? What make/s it/them a favorite?
  3. Aside from writing, what do you like doing best in life?
  4. Who inspire you the most, at this moment?
  5. Are you a hopeless romantic or a realist? Why do you think you fall under this label?
  6. Which artist do you listen to the most? What do you like about him/her/them, or his/her music?
  7. What is your course/profession? Where are you studying/working? Do you feel like you are heading to the proper direction?
7 Comments Add yours

  1. annamechelle88 says:

    I enjoyed reading your answers so much (you seem like such a genuinely good person that I literally could applaud you right now for this post). I want to thank you for the nomination! I have already done a real neat blog award post from another nomination, but I love your questions and might attempt to answer them anyway (for fun). Of course, I’m still honored, and I will certainly link to your blog because I enjoy reading it so much and want to give others the pleasure if they aren’t aware of it. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Angel says:

      Thank you for the appreciation, annamechelle88! I just read your answers for this post in your blog, and I absolutely, absolutely loved it. And thank you so much too, for linking me. =)) I would love to hear and read a lot more from you.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. - says:

    Thanks for nominating me 🙂

    Like

    1. Angel says:

      You’re welcome! =)) Hoping for your answers. Hehe.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. zyrah says:

    sml for this post

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Angel says:

      Thank you for reading, Ms. Zyrah! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

