Who, really, has the power?

“Oh, I think not,” Varys said, swirling the wine in his cup. “Power is a curious thing, my lord. Perchance you have considered the riddle I posed you that day in the inn?”
“It has crossed my mind a time or two,” Tyrion admitted. “The king, the priest, the rich man—who lives and who dies? Who will the swordsman obey? It’s a riddle without an answer, or rather, too many answers. All depends on the man with the sword.”
“And yet he is no one,” Varys said. “He has neither crown nor gold nor favor of the gods, only a piece of pointed steel.”
“That piece of steel is the power of life and death.”
“Just so… yet if it is the swordsmen who rule us in truth, who do we pretend our kings hold the power? Why should a strong man with a sword ever obey a child king like Joffrey, or a wine-sodden oaf like his father?
“Because these child kings and drunken oafs can call other strong men, with other swords.”
Then these other swordsmen have the true power. Or do they?” Varys smiled. “Some say knowledge is power. Some tell us that all power comes from the gods. Others say it derives from law. Yet that day on the steps of Baelor’s Sept, our godly High Septon and the lawful Queen Regent and your ever-so-knowledgeable servant were as powerless as any cobbler or cooper in the crowd. Who truly killed Eddard Stark, do you think? Joffrey, who gave the command? Ser Ilyn Payne, who swung the sword? Or… another?”
Tyrion cocked his head sideways. “Did you mean to answer your damned riddle, or only to make my head ache worse?”
Varys smiled. “Here, then. Power resides where men believe it resides. No more and no less.”
“So power is a mummer’s trick?”
“A shadow on the wall,” Varys murmured, “yet shadows can kill. And ofttimes a very small man can cast a very large shadow.”
Tyrion smiled. “Lord Varys, I am growing strangely fond of you. I may kill you yet, but I think I’d feel sad about it.”
“I will take that as high praise.”
― George R.R. MartinA Clash of Kings

This is one my favorite quotes from Game of Thrones, so far (I’m still on S02!). It gave me so much insight on pretty much all the drama that’s going on in the show, and most importantly, power. Powerful people will not be so powerful if people don’t believe they are. Like what Varys said, ‘‘Power resides where men believe it resides.” People have different principles and core values. Someone might be powerful to one, but not to another. There is power in our decisions, choices, and the trust we give. I’m sure there’s so much more going on about Varys’s riddle. Moreover, it may even suggest that Varys is rooting for Tyrion Lannister for the Iron Throne (Is he, guys?).

Oh gods, this show is very addicting. I might be posting numerous stuff about this show in the days ahead. And I’m giving you an advance apology for a plethora of geekery that will be ruining your News Feed soon. Good day! =))

23 Comments Add yours

  1. Daal says:

    Inspiration, as you show in this wonderful story, is everywhere, if we choose to look for it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aww I’m a massive fan of Game of Thrones- so I’ll be excited to see you geek out about it! Love this quote 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Angel says:

      I’m still in S03 though, but things are getting so interesting. Daenerys just had the Unsullied :))) Is Tyrion interested with owning the Iron Throne? (It’s ok to spoil me haha)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ahh that’s one of the best seasons!! (haha it’s okay I won’t spoil you on principle, even if you’re okay with it)

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Angel says:

        o m g the Red Wedding oh nooo :(((

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I KNOW- oh my god that was such a heartbreaking episode :/ 😥

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Angel says:

        Yes! 😦 I can’t move on to the next season because I’m still so sad about the Starks. I feel so sorry for Arya who had to see that moment. 😥

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Ah I know the feeling- I felt the exact same way :/

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Angel says:

        The Starks SHOULD be reanimated!!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. shift1key says:

    Nice.. GOT fanatic spotted! 🙂

    Like

    1. Angel says:

      Virtual *fist bump* ❤

      Like

    2. Angel says:

      shift1key, why is it that when I click on your profile, it says that “shift1key.wordpress.com is no longer available. The authors have deleted this site.”?

      Like

      1. shift1key says:

        I am not sure what went wrong, I read the same case few months ago. Maybe its bug in wp. Not sure though.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Angel says:

        Sana maayos na siya ng WP. Babasahin ko po sana blog mo ee haha

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Angel says:

        It worked po! 🙂 Salamat!

        Like

      4. shift1key says:

        Hope it works.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. shift1key says:

        I think ako ang may mali. Di ko na set sa tamang url ang nasa profile ko. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Angel says:

        it’s nice na ok na siya hehe =)))

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Haha! Love this part here. But this provides a discomforting thought. Whosoever owns the military will have that strong physical force crucial in the ealry stages of conflict.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Angel says:

      Yes, they have to, and that shows that they have power to do so.

      Like

Leave a Reply

