Day#1: Five Ways To Win Your Heart

So, I’ll be doing the 30 Day Blog Challenge today. I know, I know. Today is already July 7, and the month is 31 days and not 30, as the challenge suggests, but I want to do this particular blog challenge because I love to write about the things that are in this challenge’s list. I just started late because I’ve been very busy. I think that I can write so much about these things unlike some of the blog challenges that I’ve encountered around WordPress, and around the Internet, in general. Feel free to save the challenge, and I dare you to answer too, yourselves. I feel that this would be an engaging writing experience because I feel very tempted for days to write about things that I usually don’t talk about. I think that this particular activity would indeed be a great way to challenge my writing abilities. Plus, this would be a great excuse to write about myself without quite sounding so self-absorbed.

Day#1: Five Ways To Win Your Heart
1. Listen

Listen, to the sound from deep within
It’s only beginning
To find release

I will always have a soft spot for people who takes time to listen carefully to what I have to say. And by listen, I don’t mean ‘nod, pretend, and forget.” I mean listening, and understanding. The thing is, you would just know that somebody had really listened to you and have been listening to you, in the future, when a particular episode calls for it. For example, you and your friend attended a party, and in the party, there is this virtuoso DJ and you want to request your favorite song. You may be doing something important, and so you asked your friend to make the request for you. You hope that s/he’ll remember, because you have been talking about this particular song for days.If the DJ plays the right song, she’s been listening. If not, she hasn’t been listening, obviously. Even little things like this everyday can help us establish if we have been right or wrong about who we choose to trust. In this past-paced generation, it’s hard to find someone who actually takes time to really listen. I’m guilty of not listening, myself, especially whenever I am also simultaneously contemplating about something that I think is important.But, I’ve learned now that what a friend is venting off to me in the present is just much more important than anything I’ve been mulling about while also ‘nodding, pretending, and forgetting.’ I understand that one can’t really listen to everyone around. But in friendships, and in any kinds of relationships, listening is vital. It is an essential ingredient to trust. In the past, when I’m in social situations, I tend to shut my ears off, and zone out, while in conversations. I also tend to fumble for my phone while someone is talking because looking directly into someone’s eyes makes me inredibly awkward and uncomfortable. But now, I’ve learned not to do that, because it feels that I am insulting their viewpoint, and because I would feel insulted too if I am aware that somebody’s not listening.

2. Enjoy the Silence

All I ever wanted
All I ever needed
Is here in my arms
Words are very unnecessary
They can only do harm

Many people who know me would also know that I enjoy solitude and silence very much. It’s a way for me to recharge and to temporily detach myself from all the chaos that is life. I’m in love with people who can spend an hour or longer time with me without speaking and all those unnecessary chatter. We read books, take a long stroll in quiet places, travel, with care and silence. They say that the best acts in the world are those of unspoken kind, and I totally agree with it. We can caress, hug, and kiss one another, without all the noise and all the talking. Even a small smile can drastically change anyone’s day. My ‘recharge process’ might take a longer time than necessary. I can spend time alone, and unspeaking, for a whole day. And then I will eventually return to this chaotic version of the world with a strong, happy heart, and a slightly less insane version of myself. I would miss a lit bit of noise, too.

3. Run Away With Me

Packing a bag, we’re leaving tonight when everyone’s sleeping, sleeping
Let’s run away
I’ll run away with you

Some people, especially those who don’t know me, often see me as cool and level-headed, but it is really not the case. I can be level-headed sometimes, but more often than not, my mind is a big mess. I often do some things in impulse, without really thinking about the repercussions of some of my actions. But my impulsiveness often come from desires. I was never impulsive with making decision in regards to my relationships. For example, if out of nowhere I suddenly crave for donuts, if I have money on my pockets, no matter how broke I am, I will buy one or maybe more. If suddenly, I longed to go to Binondo, Manila or Rizal Park or Gateway, if my impulse is really itching, and I if I still have money for round trips, then I would answer it. I often do these escapades solitarily because I am the kind of person who doesn’t want to inconvenience anyone by pulling them wherever my intution wants to go. Some people are just so polite to say no, even if they don’t want to or even if they are’t allowed to. Even if it’s not really a definite necessity, in friendships and other kind of relationships, I often get attracted to people who share the same interests and tastes as mine, because I take a lot of pleasant comfort with the fact that I’m really not alone who’s toying with some wild and dark ideas, or even some unpopular tastes, likes, dislikes, and whatnots. Although it’s almost impossible to find anyone who is an exact copy of us, I can really appreciate anyone who can ‘run away’ with me anywhere, anytime, without ever wanting to strangle me at any moment.

4. Take On Me

Is it life or just to play my worries away?
You’re all the things I’ve got to remember
You’re shying away
I’ll be coming for you anyway

Be a challenge. 🙂

5. Love Yourself

‘Cause if you like the way you look that much
Oh, baby, you should go and love yourself

There’s nothing more captivating than a person who is comfortable with his/her own skin. They are not easily affected by other people’s personal judgments. There is a lot of truth when people say that one may love better and more selflessly when s/he finally learn how to really love his/herself. No matter what your personality is, confidence is attractive to anyone. Because I also do struggle a bit with loving myself, I am always amazed by people who are so self-assured. Of course, a lot of them may still be having a lot of insecurities underneath, but I love how they appear nonchalant, or even confident about their insecurities in the veneer. I think that this is the bestest and the only way to win anyone’s heart.We can’t really please everyone. We can’t be friends with everyone. But it’s good that there will always be those people who will love and appreciate us no matter how truly and ridiculously fucked-up we are.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

