2nd Liebster Award: Remembering Boo Radley, Singing With Our Neighbor’s Dogs, Etc.

Yay. I just received my 2nd Liebster Award. It is really nice to know that my blog is appreciated by bloggers who I also look up to. =))) So much thanks again, filipinawriter for nominating me. I said thanks, for like, 3 times already haha. PLEASE go check out her site. Her entries never fail to amaze me, because they felt so genuine and emotional. She’s one of the many fascinating bloggers in WordPress who remains authentic no matter what.

Here are my answers to her questions.

If you would have to choose, poetry or novel? Why?

I’ll read both, but if I have to choose which one to write, it’s poetry. There’s something so authentic and selfless about writing poems that I really love. When I’m writing poems, I don’t just think about me. I think about other people as well, and how they can connect/empathize with me. Most poets only write for themselves. I often do too, because writing for oneself is a great way to vomit all those excess pleasures, bitterness, misery, and whatnot’s because their places in our hearts are just too much too bear. It is surely not a bad thing. Heck, it’s the major reason why all of us even write. But, most of the time, I write WITH people. Whenever I write, I want someone to connect with me, and when someone does, it offers me a very pleasant feeling. Poetry is, more often that not, very ambiguous, and it is always fun to experiment with ambiguity. I always ask myself when I’m writing: How can I empathize and be authentic, at the same time with this poem?

What’s your favorite book? Why?

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. I first read it when I was in 2nd year high school, because it was a required reading. I didn’t finish reading it. I had an incredibly short attention span. I re-read it again in 4th year and I finished it in 3 days. I was hooked, needless to say. I still remember tomboyish Scout, stubborn Jem, righteous Atticus, and of course, the mysterious Boo Radley. Reading To Kill a Mockingbird is one of the best decisions I’ve ever made in my life. This may sound pretentious and cliched, but really, that’s what I felt after reading that book. It was a real eye-opener, and I just wished I read that book when I was much younger. It changed the way I looked at the world and its people. It made me want to punch my angsty, nonchalant, and egoistic self in the past. The lessons that I’ve learned from the book are also the foundation of my efforts to transition from this selfish, super annoying kid to a person who actually cares for the people around her. Here are some of the best lines from Harper Lee’s To Kill a Mockingbird that stayed with me up to this day:

1. “You never really understand a person until you consider things from his point of view… Until you climb inside of his skin and walk around in it.”

2. “The one thing that doesn’t abide by majority rule is a person’s conscience.”

3. “Atticus said to Jem one day, “I’d rather you shot at tin cans in the backyard, but I know you’ll go after birds. Shoot all the blue jays you want, if you can hit ‘em, but remember it’s a sin to kill a mockingbird.” That was the only time I ever heard Atticus say it was a sin to do something, and I asked Miss Maudie about it. “Your father’s right,” she said. “Mockingbirds don’t do one thing except make music for us to enjoy. They don’t eat up people’s gardens, don’t nest in corn cribs, they don’t do one thing but sing their hearts out for us. That’s why it’s a sin to kill a mockingbird.”

4. “Atticus, he was real nice.”
“Most people are, Scout, when you finally see them.”

5. “Sometimes the Bible in the hand of one man is worse than a whisky bottle in the hand of (another)… There are just some kind of men who – who’re so busy worrying about the next world they’ve never learned to live in this one, and you can look down the street and see the results.”

6. “You just hold your head high and keep those fists down. No matter what anybody says to you, don’t you let ’em get your goat. Try fightin’ with your head for a change.
-Atticus Finch”

7. “Real courage is when you know you’re licked before you begin, but you begin anyway and see it through no matter what.”

8. “When a child asks you something, answer him, for goodness sake. But don’t make a production of it. Children are children, but they can spot an evasion faster than adults, and evasion simply muddles ’em.”
Would you like to share with your friends and even relatives your blog?

Yes. Everyone is allowed to see this blog, although I’m sure that they can’t really agree with all the things that I have to say, and all the things that I already did share here. It’s OK though. I’m just being me. They don’t have to understand me, because I’m trying hard to understand myself too.

Why do you choose to write or blog?

I write because I just have to, and just like what I’ve written many times in my past posts, writing gives me eudaemonia/happiness and catharsis/purgation. It helps me move on. I’m the type of person who finds it hard to let go of things, especially if those things gave me unpleasant or overwhelming feelings. I just have to vomit it all out, so that I can move forward, and so that I can constantly remind myself that I wouldn’t let the same mistakes to repeat themselves in the future. It also helps me connect with people who experienced/are experiencing problems and situations that I went/am going through.
What post of yours would you like to share to the world? Why?

This is not actually a post. but an answer to Juansen’s question in his Real Neat Blog Award questions which is : If the world suddenly paused just to listen to you—what would be your message to the world?

Stop being so discriminating and unreasonable. Stop making other people feel less human than they actually are, just because they’re different from what you’re accustomed to. Make some sense out of: “We’re all equal.” And just LOVE. Oh, and also, there are lots of people around you who need at least a 5 second hug. You are required to attend to those people.

What sad poem would you like to share with your partner or the person you like? Why?

Virginia Woolf’s Angels 1919

Five years after their rescue
Of troops beaten back in Mons,
She danced with them on the downs,
Their forms like kites she reeled in
With clouds, their haloes askew
On waves of green escarpments
Breaking into the sea. Beech-brown
The combes she looked down upon
While the angels held up her skirts,
Rode the rhythms of her walking feet –
Their wings no longer torn.
In a host they balanced, on the alert
For ancient armies in retreat
Squatting in hunched hawthorns.

One year after the armistice
In the steep slopes of her temperament
She kept them at her side, to banish
The simpering angels of the house
At whom, with the sedge, they would hiss.
Whenever an alien shadow bent
Over her page as she wrote, a swish
Of wings dipped in ink would douse
Its creeping insistence, despatch it
Into tumuli turfed over, into dew ponds.
The angels of Mons were her guides
Through plankton, fossils, flint; could fit
Into her psyche’s darkest corners beyond
Precipices chalked in over sucking tides.

If you could have one ability what would it be?

The ability to dance! Because I can’t. 😦

If you are another person, how would you describe your self?

I answered this particular question last because I can’t really think about that other possibility. This is so hard. Hmm. I don’t know tbh. It’s not that I’m too lazy to look for an answer. But yeah, maybe I’m lazy. But, I just can’t see myself as another person. And I love myself hahaha. I’m sorry if I can’t answer this.

When was the last time you sing to your self? To Someone? What song was it?

Just a while ago. My brothers and I are in the same room so whenever I sing, they can hear it. So, maybe, technically, I’m singing to them. I sang I See Fire by Ed Sheeran. I actually recorded it! hahaha. I did a duet with my neighbor’s dogs.XD The dogs were great, and they are really, really sensational. I’m really sorry for the low-quality sound, low-quality timing and low-quality voice. But, the dogs are still the best! Here it is:

What song best describe you?

If there is a song that would best describe me, it would be Like a Rolling Stone by Bob Dylan, because I feel lost most of the time. Like, when I’m doing something, some annoying part of me would ask, ‘Why am I doing this?’ or ‘What am I doing here?’ It just ruins the day whenever those thoughts come. It takes so much will power.

What constitute a perfect day for you?

I always consider it a perfect day if I had a long, intimate conversation with anyone. This and only this, and the day will be perfect.

16 Comments Add yours

  1. Galing mo talaga Angel, haha! Yung to kill a mocking bird na yan matagal ko nang gustong basahin yan kaso ‘la ko time’ hahaha. Ang ganda ng mga sagot mo haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Angel says:

      Ay oh? Basahin mo na kuya! hahaha. medyo maikli lang naman yun hehe. Salamat! Keme lang yang mga sagot ko chos haha. =))

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Nextweek basahin ko yun. Haha.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Angel says:

        Ay yes hahaha. Balitaan mo kami kung may mga naranasan kang epiphany char haha

        Like

  2. aysabaw says:

    Awwww si Boo Radley at Scout 😮😮😮

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Angel says:

      nakakamiss basahin. Huhu. tas ang cool ni boo radley. =)) napanood mo na ung movie ate?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. aysabaw says:

        Ay hindi ko napanood. 😑😑😑 sinubukan ko yan hanapin pero wala akong nahanap sa net haha

        Like

      2. Angel says:

        Meron sa rainierland.biz ate ahaha. :))) pero nakakainip kasi buffering huhu

        Liked by 1 person

      3. aysabaw says:

        Toinks. Naku…hindi carry dito…mabagal net….kahit 3mins video loading pa hahahaha

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Angel says:

        Ay oh? May mas malala pa pala sa net ng pilipinas hahaha

        Liked by 1 person

      5. aysabaw says:

        Hay sinabi mo pa

        Like

  3. Mia says:

    We think just the same and I really appreciate your favorite book and song. You would have been my best friend if I had met you before :)))

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Angel says:

      I’m happy that you can relate with me. I wish I could meet you someday. =))) Thank you very much for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Mia says:

        Maybe we will :))

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Jasper Villa says:

    Awesome! To Kill A Mockingbird din favorite novel ko AND I read it in 2nd year hs too! Hehe. Saw a public movie screening early this year. Love both book and film! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Angel says:

      ay naks pareho pa po talaga tayo.haha Ako din. So love the film, too. 🙂 Ang galing ng actors, lalo na yung nagplay kay Scout & Atticus. =)))

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

