The Perfection That Is Harry Styles

Harry Styles never goes out of style. And this is palpable in his alarmingly charming self-titled debut album, Harry Styles. I’m warning you that this isn’t going to be a formal review, because I just can’t do it without being biased. I love One Direction. I love Harold/Hazza, his softie heart, curly, long hair, dimples, paper airplane necklace, green eyes, tatoos, fashion style, musical taste… everything. I love saying, writing, reading and hearing the name Harry Styles and I swear it never gets old. I mean, who has a name like that? That name screams legend. You see, we’re just in the intro, but my writing is already all over the place. God, this boy.

Okay, the album. Whoo.

I’ll be honest.  I never expected that he would be this good. He totally deviated from his pop-rock roots in 1D. Instead, we hear a Harry Styles going classic rock, tipping a hat for his childhood musical idols such as Pink Floyd, The Beatles, The White Stripes and Fleetwood Mac… And he does it oh-so-gracefully. Listening to the whole album feels like listening to those 70s and 80s artists that rocked their decades. I’m a fan of old classic rock music, and this album severely awakened my hungry, old soul. I. LOVE. IT. The production. The vast instrumentation. The lyrics. Harry’s voice. They all fit perfectly.

Most of the songs in the album, I think, talks about poor conversations in which people either talk too much, but don’t say what they really mean or they don’t talk at all even though they have so much important things to say.

1. Meet Me in the Hallway

Haunting. A nice intro song.

I walked the streets all day/ Running with the thieves/ ‘Cause you left me in the hallway

2. Sign of the Times

Anthemic. Instant classic. This is the most acclaimed single from the album. 11/10

We never learn, we’ve been here before/ Why are we always stuck and running from the bullets?

Will be ever learn? / We’ve been here before

∆ We don’t talk enough/We should open up/ Before it’s all too much

3. Carolina

 H tells in a BBC 1 interview that this is about a girl that he met who is from North Carolina, and her name is Townes.

Townes, better swim before you drown

How could I tell her that she’s all I think about? / Well, I guess she just found out

4. Two Ghosts 

This one is allegedly about Taylor Swift. The first verses responds to a lyric from TS’s song, Style, which is, uh, obviously about Harry Styles. This is my favorite song from the album, mainly because I ship Haylor so hard. But the song is so good, too, so there’s that.

We’re just two ghosts standing in the place of you and me/ Trying to remember how it feels to have a heartbeat

∆ Telling those stories we already told / ‘Cause we don’t say what we really mean

5. Sweet Creature

Beautiful. Reminisce of The Beatles’ Blackbird.

But we’re still young / We don’t know where we’re going / But we know where we belong

∆ I always think about you and how we don’t speak enough

6. Only Angel

Rock n’ roll!!!

Open up your eyes, shut your mouth and see / That I’m still the only one who’s been in love with me

7. Kiwi

The. Best. Headbang. Song. Ever.

Oh, I think she said, “I’m having your baby, it’s none of your business.”

8. Ever Since New York

Sad, and yearning.

Brooklyn saw me, empty at the news / There’s no water inside the swimming pool / Almost over, had enough from you

∆ Tell me something I don’t already know

9. Woman

I love the guitar solo in this one. And let’s not forget about the beloved duck sounds.

Tempted, you know / Apologies are never gonna fix this / I’m empty, I know / Promises are broken like a stich is

10. From the Dining Table

 Listening to this song feels like H is whispering a confession to my ears. I think this is the most honest song in the album. 

Maybe one day you’ll call me and tell me that you’re sorry too / But you, you never do

∆ Comfortable silence is so overrated / Why won’t you ever say what you want to say?

All in all, I would rate this album 4 out 5. Why not 5? I know. Who am I kidding, right? This album is perfect, musically wise. But, I feel that there’s something missing, from Harry especially. I can’t pinpoint what exactly, but I felt that sense of incompleteness when I replayed the whole album thrice. But, yeah. I think this is a great debut for Harry. I love him and his music so fucking much. I would recommend this to everyone. We deserve Harry Styles and his great music. I would do another for the other boys of 1D too, once they released theirs. Goodbye and thank you very much for reading!

(Credits to the owner of the pictures used.)

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Followed straight away when I saw this haha! I’m absolutely in love with Carolina at the minute! 💛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Angel says:

      Thank you! I love that song too! That one fan to whom he dedicated that song to is very lucky!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. says:

    Waaaaaaaa OMG OMG I also stan Harry!! and Haylor shipper din ako 😍😍😍😍😍 Pinakafave ko yung Woman hehe 💕

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Angel says:

      waaaaa my ghaaad sobrang rare nito huhu I’m so happyyy ❤ apir po!!!! Omg haha malapit ko na ring maging fave ang Woman dahil sa duck sounds HAHAHA

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Angel says:

      Also, I’m hoping na sana maging in ulit ang Haylor dahil nagsulat si Hazza ng kanta for her omg ❤❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. says:

        Akala ko ako lang ang mag-isang umaasa na sana sila na lang uli hahahaha 😅 pero sabi naman nung iba para daw kay Louis yung Two Ghosts?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Angel says:

        yas sabi nga daw hahaha kasi blue eyes rin si louis 😂 pero move on na ako sa Larry. may baby na si bebe louis ee 😂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. 😢 says:

        Trot. May katiting pang pag-asa sa Haylor, pero napakaliit ng chance hahahaha 😥

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Angel says:

        Yasss. Better Haylor/ Larry kesa Hendall. Hahaha.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. 😢 says:

        Trueeee ayoko rin kay Kendall eh hahaha 😅

        Liked by 1 person

  3. saradiz says:

    Why i just found you now! Followed you straight away when after reading it! My personal favorite at this moment is Kiwi, Only Angle and Sweet creature! love your blog!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Angel says:

      I’m loving Kiwi at the moment, too! And thanks for following! I’m visiting your bkog, just now 🙂

      Like

  4. VanessaQuesada says:

    Wow, felt like I wrote this. lovely subject! Are you going to see him on tour this year?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Angel says:

      Yes, I am! 🙂 Are you also going? Thank you for reading, by the way. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

